A Web portal All About Energy source



The 27th Annual Sasol Marathon, presented by the Sasolburg Athletics Club and proudly sponsored by Sasol, makes its return following a one-year break in 2021 due to COVID-19 restrictions. The Sasol Marathon, which is both a Comrades qualifier and a Two Oceans qualifier, will take place on Saturday, 26 March 2022 at the DP De Villiers Stadium in Sasolburg, Free State.

Sasol is delighted to host decorated runners from all over Southern Africa and across the globe in Sasolburg once again, as the Free State’s biggest marathon makes a triumphant return after a year-long break. The disruption was due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and restrictions under the Disaster Management Act.

“The threat of COVID-19 is still prevalent, that is why we have taken every measure to mitigate the risks of the pandemic and have committed to ensuring the safety of the athletes, spectators, and everyone attending the marathon. Some of those measures include accepting only online registrations for the 42.2km, 21.1km and the 10km races this year – no late entries will be accepted. However, for the 5km fun run – which is limited to approximately 300 participants – entries can also be done online as well as at the stadium on race day,” said Thuli Mbuli, Head of Community Affairs: Sasolburg and Ekandustria Operations at Sasol.

This year, the 6-hour, 42.2km and the 3-hour, 21.1km races will start at 06:00; while the 2-hour 10km race will only start at 06:15 and the 1-hour 5km fun run is set to start at 06:30. The prize giving will take place at 10:00 inside the stadium.

Online entries will close on Monday, 21 March 2022. Entries can be done on www.entryninja.com.

Online pre-entry fees are R180 for the 42.2km race; R150 for the 21.1km race; R80 for the 10km race and R40 for the 5km fun run. A temporary licence can also be obtained online for only R70 and is limited to individual participants who do not belong to a club, but are taking part in the 42.2km, 21.1km or 10km races.

Over the years, the Sasol Marathon has been popular with runners as it is a fairly flat route, taking runners past the Sasol factory and the Sasolburg Highveld Garden. Previous marathon winners include the 2020 men’s and women’s winners Peter Muthubi and Renata Vosloo, who both completed the 42.2km marathon under 3 hours, in their respective divisions.

On race day, the water points, comprising of Sasol employees from various departmental teams and local businesses will be placed along the route to joyfully refresh the athletes and lift their spirits.

Road users are urged to adhere to the marshals and traffic officials from the Metsimaholo Local Municipality who will be on duty to direct athletes and minimise impact on motorists.

Comments are closed.